Orange Bobbles, Twigs With Thorns And A Trip To The GP

Have You Got Your Orange Bobble Yet?

Age UK’s Spread the Warmth campaign want everyone to recognise the 250 older people who die every day during the winter months as a result of the cold weather and help them to take steps to eradicate this issue by taking part in Orange Bobble Day on Friday 11th of Feb. To find out more visit  http://www.ageuk.org.uk/get-involved/spread-the-warmth/go-orange-for-bobble-day/

Or visit us at our Age UK Derby and Derbyshire 50 plus centre in the Eagle Market or at our Morledge office and buy your bobble from us. Ps if you’re any good at knitting bobbles knit us a few and bring them in for us to sell on Friday.

 Diet, Drink, Sex and Life

What a week it has been! Comedy Career Wrecked and a Trip to the GP

It started with my comedy career going out the window when I was called home before I even got to the comedy workshop I’ve been waiting ages to go to because our dog was in excruciating pain and couldn’t sit down. It turned out to be a small but lethal twig with thorns lodged under her tail which she couldn’t dislodge – Ooooh just the thought is painful – and yes I did remember to wash my hands 🙂

Tuesday also saw me having the most massive panic attack I’ve had to date which ended in a trip to the Walk in Clinic. If anyone has ever suffered from panic attacks they’ll know exactly what I mean when I say once they take hold they take hold and you are literally left thinking  you’re just about to depart this world and nothing is going to change your mind without a full medical.  Luckily this is what I was given and following my detailed check over by Nurse Mick I left reassured I wasn’t dying but being told it might be a good idea to pop and see my GP. Well don’t stop me laughing here but trying to get an appointment at or Doctors is getting a little bit like trying to get Mubarak out of power – You know at some point you will but not without a bloody fight first. In order to get an appointment (and from the first phone call) it took me  18 hours,  25 phone calls, four receptionists and a triage nurse  only to be told “yes I think you’ll need to see the doctor – can you get here in twenty minutes”.  I nearly killed myself just running up the road to make the appointment never mind the feelings of still thin king I’m about to die and guess what – Yes appointment 9.40 – arrive 9.39 to big man blocking entrance talking to receptionist – see receptionist 9.45 – classed as a late for appointment get into see the doctor 10.20. It was all such a smooth smooth process I left feeling as well as one can be expected under the circumstances with reflux tablets in one hand and an appointment for a blood check in the other.

The diet, with all the worry and running around, has meant I have lost weight and I’m now down to 102kgs.  Can I make it down to a 100kgs by Monday I ask myself?   If I can just avoid the dreaded JD and Cokes and curry for another 2 days I’ll be laughing – Hungry and miserable – but laughing!

One response to “Orange Bobbles, Twigs With Thorns And A Trip To The GP

  1. Sorry to hear of your panic attack Ray. Hope you’re ok now matey. Can I have an orange bobble please! Any chance you could pop one with Liz and get the cash to you through Liz. How much are they?

    All the best mate
    Simon 🙂

Leave a comment